Who's Who Press Releases Training Club Lotto  Members Area

Sunday, 03 August 2014







The next Committee Meeting takes place in the hall at 8;00pm on Tuesday 26th August














Press Releases

Junior Championship

Saturday 2nd August 7:30pm : Beleek

Mullabrack 2:9 v O'Hanlons 1:7


Mullabrack Men win it for ‘Iggy’


Tears of joy greeted the final whistle at Beleek on Saturday night when Mullabrack defeated O’Hanlons at the end of a week which saw Mullabrack’s long standing Chairman, Ignatius Mallon, pass away so suddenly.


It all did not start as Mullabrack planned with O’Hanlons putting two points on the board in the first 10 minutes. Mullabrack then registered their first score through Sean Paul Henry after a good ball in from Philip McKeown. At midfield Phelim Sands and Dara Smith were fighting for every ball although O’Hanlons ensured Mullabrack did not have it all their own way. Pip Agnew and Marty Rice were giving their opponents a torrid time and both sent good balls to Gerard Agnew who hit Mullabrack’s second two scores. O’Hanlons were also upping the tempo and hit 4 points without reply. With 2 points between them O’Hanlons then scored their goal leaving questions for the Mullabrack defence. A willing Mullabrack support spurred the lads on and a long free from Philip Agnew pulled one back. With 5 minutes to go to half time Eamon Boylan caught a ball on the edge of the square only to see his shot saved by the goalkeeper, however he managed to put the rebound over the bar. At half time Mullabrack were definitely in with a shout at the score 1:5 to 5 points in O’Hanlons favour.


The second half started with a ‘bang’ with 2 points from the ‘brack’. Both Gerard Agnew and Marty Rice on target. O’Hanlons managed a sixth point; however it was clear that John Henry and Tony Murphy had passed on some strong words at half time. The Mullabrack men were fighting for every ball with a sense of anticipation. Christopher Dougan, Stephen Baxter and the elder statesman Colin Murphy were holding the defence together eagerly supported by Paddy Toal, Philip McKeown and Simon Gibney. In the 10th minute of the second half the game moved to a new level. Mullabrack started to get on top and finally Philip Agnew brought the sides level with a good point from distance. Suddenly everyone believed that winning this game was possible and when Gerard Agnew sent the ball to the O’Hanlons net after a perfect assist by Eamon Boylan the game turned on its head.


A certain man may have been looking down and spurring the team on as each Mullabrack man fought for every ball. Philip McKeown and Dara Smith both put in two wonderful blocks and a tenacious Christopher Dougan brought the ball out of defence time and time again. With fifteen minutes to go and a 4 point game in Mullabracks favour; Pearse McGuigan in the Mullabrack goal sent a quick ball out to Simon Gibney who put Phelim Sands free on the right. He sent a long ball into the full forward line which Gerard Agnew caught and on the turn sent the ball to the top right hand corner of the O’Hanlon’s net. With a seven point cushion Mullabrack coasted to the finish but before the end Pearse McGuigan pulled off the finest save of the game by pushing a goal ward bound shot around the post. It was an elated Mullabrack team which greeted the final whistle with a score of 2:9 to 1:7. Ignatius’s son Declan was there to witness a fitting spectacle to his Fathers memory and in the faces of every player leaving the field one could see what they were all saying “that one was for you Iggy”.


Mullabrack team: Pearse McGuigan, Simon Gibney. Stephen Baxter, Christopher Dougan, Paddy Toal, Colin Murphy, Philip McKeown, Sean Paul Henry. Martin Rice, Dara Smith, Phelim Sands, Eamon Boylan, Colin Rafferty, Gerard Agnew, Philip Agnew,


Subs: Mike Reneghan, Benny Dougan, Blane Cullen, Willy Wong, Cormac Hutton, Mike Haughey, Liam Conlon, Luke Cullen and Paul Jordan.









.......More Press Releases

5 3 “New management team at Mullabrack” 

30th January 2006

5 5 Mid Armagh Shield Mullabrack v Madden

5th February 2006

5 7 New Committee and Website

5th February 2006




© 2014 Mullabrack GFC. All rights reserved  [Disclaimer] [Privacy]